UHCL Presidential Search Committee Announcement

Dear UHCL Faculty, Staff, and Students-

I am pleased to announce that a national search for the next University of Houston-Clear Lake President will soon begin. A 15-member presidential search committee has been appointed (list of members below) and will be chaired by University of Houston-Victoria President Robert K. Glenn. The committee members were chosen from the various constituent groups and partners of the UH-Clear Lake family, including faculty, staff, students, administrators, alumni and community members. The search committee will be assisted by Anthem Executive search firm.

In the next two weeks, I plan to meet and charge the Presidential Search Committee with its duties. In addition, I also plan to meet with the various governance groups on campus to collect their thoughts on the search process as well as the qualities and characteristics they hope to see in a new president.

You can expect to receive regular updates from the search committee. Meanwhile, I ask you to help identify qualified candidates because we wish to seek a highly qualified and diverse pool of candidates for the search.

UH-Clear Lake is a strong, forward-thinking and innovative university ready to benefit from a visionary leader who will propel it to greater heights. Thank you for your interest and engagement as we begin the process of selecting UHCL’s next president.

Renu Khator 
Chancellor, University of Houston System

UHCL Presidential Search Committee Members

Robert K. “Bob” Glenn, President, University of Houston–Victoria

Elbby Antony, Executive Director, University Advancement, UHCL

Dwayne Busby, Executive Director, Strategic Partnerships, UHCL

Stephen Cotten, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Economics, College of Business, UHCL

Mark Denney, Vice President for Administration and Finance, UHCL

Aaron Hart, Ed.D., Vice President for Student Affairs, UHCL

Lisa Jones, Ed.D., Department Chair and Professor of Counseling, Special Education, and Diversity, College of Education, UHCL

Kathryn Matthew, Ed.D., Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, Professor of Reading College of Education, UHCL

Denise Navarro (B.A.’86, M.B.A. ‘9), Alumna, Business Owner, and Community Leader

Joan Pedro, Ph.D., Dean and Professor in Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education, UHCL

Matthew Perry, President, University Staff Association; Director, Student Housing and Residential Life, UHCL

Lory Santiago-Vázquez, Ph.D., Program Chair of Biotechnology and Associate Professor of Biology and Biotechnology, College of Science and Engineering, UHCL
Jasara “J” Scates, President, Student Government Association, UHCL

Shreerekha Subramanian, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Humanities, College of Human Sciences and Humanities, UHCL

Paul Withey, Ph.D., President, Faculty Senate; Program Chair and Associate Professor of Physics, College of Science and Engineering, UHCL