Welcome W. Wilson, Jr.


Welcome Wilson, Jr. was appointed to the UH System Board of Regents in 2011 by Governor Rick Perry and served through August 31, 2017. During his term, Mr. Wilson served as vice chairman of the Board of Regents, chair of the Facilities, Construction and Master Planning Committee, chair of the Finance and Administration Committee, and was a member of the System Wide Art Acquisition Committee (SWACC) and Class Advisory Board.

 He is president and CEO of Welcome Group, LLC, a real estate development firm specializing in single-tenant office buildings and industrial buildings including lab, warehouse and manufacturing facilities in the state of Texas. He is also the joint venture partner in Kingham ∙ Dalton ∙ Wilson Ltd., a design/build construction affiliate of Welcome Group and is a director of River Oaks Financial Group, Inc.

 Mr. Wilson currently serves as chairman of the Alamo Trust and serves on the board of directors of the Remember the Alamo Foundation in San Antonio.  He was recently appointed by Texas Governor Greg Abbott to serve on the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board in Austin.

He also serves on the board of directors of the Greater Houston Partnership, the Trellis Company and the Trellis Foundation in Austin, the Friends of the Texas Historical Commission and the Texas Business Hall of Fame.

In addition, he is chairman of the board of the Southwest Houston Redevelopment Authority and by appointment of the Mayor of Houston is chairman of Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone #20 (TIRZ # 20).

Mr. Wilson is immediate past chairman of the Houston Realty Business Coalition and has served as vice chairman of the Houston Food Bank, chairman of the End Hunger Network, director of the Houston Chapter of the American Lung Association, director of the Houstonian Club in Houston, and president of the Kinkaid School Alumni Association.

In 2018 The Houston Business Journal named Welcome Wilson, Jr. as one of its “Most Admired CEOs.”

Mr. Wilson is a native Texan, is married and attended the University of Denver.